Delegate Proposal - Ben Hawkins | Solana Foundation (prev Cogent Crypto)

Identity and background

What is the delegate’s identity and background?

My name is Ben Hawkins, I’m a seasoned machine learning engineer (10+ years) turned crypto enthusiast.

Before joining the foundation, I ran my own validator, Cogent Crypto, where I was an extremely active member of the Solana Ecosystem writing guides on medium around staking and running a validator as well as building tools on the cogent crypto website complimenting said articles. I ran Cogent Crypto from Dec 21 to May 2023

Now I work at the Solana Foundation as the Head of Staking Ecosystem where I have been focused on revamping the Solana Foundation’s delegation program.

Has the delegate historically contributed to the Jito Network?

Cogent Crypto was one of the first validators testing and running the Jito Client. I was extremely active in the jito discord in the early days earning my self the discord Jedi role.

Has the delegate historically been involved in protocol governance?

I was active in protocol governance as a validator and now actively participate in the validator governance chats as a member of the foundation.

Yes, I have been deeply committed to the success of both the Jito Network and Solana. My work with Cogent Crypto and the Solana Foundation reflects this commitment. At Cogent Crypto, I was at the forefront of adopting and promoting the Jito Client, contributing to its testing and implementation. In my current role at the Solana Foundation, I am dedicated to enhancing the staking ecosystem, which directly supports the network’s stability and growth. My actions and contributions are driven by a strong belief in the potential of Solana and the Jito Network to revolutionize the crypto space.

Candidate views

How should JitoSOL validator delegation balance performance (yield) versus decentralization goals?