Delegate Proposal - 7Layer / Overclock Validator

What is the delegate’s identity and background?

Hey, my name is “7Layer” (7LayerMagik on twitter) and I will be representing the collective interests and opinions of the Overclock Validator team, which was started in 2022 and is now a midsized validator at ~1.1 million Sol stake. I’ll tell you a bit about myself along with the other two members of our Solana team.

In my “normal” life I’m currently a grad student nearing the end of a PhD program in neuroscience, but since 2021 have spent much of my free time participating in the crypto ecosystem, and in Solana in particular, where my journey into Web3 started. In 2021 I became a moderator in the Solana subreddit as well as a moderator of the Solana Tech discord, and began following the deeper core engineering and validator discussions, eventually engaging in some of these discussions myself. In the summer of 2022 I decided to start Overclock Validator with a Solana friend, Dubbelosix. Being a validator has put us in close touch with the pulse of the network and various ecosystem communities. I especially enjoy discussions on decentralization, economics, and blockchain architecture within Web3 and Solana, though I do not have a professional background in these areas. I haven’t written much formally in these areas either, but I wrote a detailed twitter thread on local fee markets that received broader attention since it was one of the first more detailed writings on this topic.